OIE recognizes faculty at the International Education Awards Reception

Athens, Ga. – The University of Georgia Office of International Education honored seven UGA faculty members at its annual International Education Awards Reception, held on April 3, at the Terrace Room, Garden Club of Georgia. The annual event honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the university's internationalization. It also recognizes the many faculty and staff across campus who advance international education through their instruction, research, service, and through administrative and logistical support.
Pictures of the event at: http://international.uga.edu/multimedia-photo-gallery.php?Gallery_ID=15

The honorees and their recognitions are as follows:

Noel Fallows was presented the Richard Reiff Internationalization Award. Fallows is an associate dean of International and Multidisciplinary Programs in the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences, and the senior Professor of Spanish in the Department of Romance Languages. He is also a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of London. The Richard Reiff Internationalization Award represents UGA's top recognition for contributions to internationalization and is presented to a faculty member who has engaged in global activities throughout his/her career and who has made major contributions to the internationalization of the university. The award is given in honor of Richard F. Reiff, who served as the director and executive director of international education at UGA for 31 years.

Fallows’ contributions to international education have provided UGA faculty and students opportunities to expand their research and studies abroad. He manages and oversees 30 international education programs that are housed in Franklin College with collective enrollments in excess of 1,000 students per year. He created and oversees the Franklin International Faculty Exchange, the Franklin International Scholars Program, the Franklin-Morris International Scholars Program, and the Franklin College-University of Liverpool Doctoral Student Short-Term International Research Fellowship.

Rodney Mauricio received the OIE Study Abroad Award, which honors a faculty or staff member who has made major contributions to advancement in UGA's study abroad efforts.
Mauricio is a professor in the Department of Genetics and has co-directed a research abroad program in science and Chinese language in China for the past 7 years. This program, funded by the National Science Foundation’s Partnership for International Research and Education (PIRE), has supported science projects by PhD students. The program also provided 50 undergraduate students participation in intensive language and genetics training during the spring semester at UGA and the summer in China.

Yao-wen Huang, a professor in the Department of Food Science and Technology, was the recipient of the International Diversity Award, which is jointly conferred by the OIE and the Office of Institutional Diversity. The International Diversity award recognizes a faculty or staff member who has shown dedication to promoting diversity as part of UGA's internationalization. This includes recruiting students from underrepresented populations for study abroad; educating international students about U.S. cultural, ethnic, religious or other forms of diversity; increasing the inclusion of students with disabilities in a variety of international activities; and bringing attention to international and comparative aspects of courses or co-curricular activities devoted to diversity.

Huang has expanded his scholarship and teaching work promoting issue of diversity and serving as director for the “Global Food and Trade in China,” the first College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences study abroad program in China. The program, offered during maymester, is designed around a series of lectures and field trips that give UGA students exposure to Chinese food, history, and culture in a variety of venues by studying in Shanghai, Tianjin and Beijing. Hung has also been active in professional societies including current Ambassador of the Global Harmony Initiative for USA and Council for the Conference for Food Protection.

Karen Braxley, coordinator for writing tutoring in the Division of Academic Enhancement and director of UGA's Intensive English Program, received the Mary Ann Kelley Open Arms Award. This award honors UGA faculty or staff who have gone above and beyond their formal duties in facilitating the presence of international students and/or scholars at UGA. The award is presented in honor of Mary Ann Kelley, who played a leadership role in the International Student and Scholars and Immigration Services unit through the years and worked tirelessly on behalf of international students, scholars and faculty.

Among Braxley’s extensive work, she has taught grammar, writing, and teaching skills to international students at UGA for 18 years.

Three additional awards were presented during the ceremony. William Kretzschmar, Willson Center for Humanities and Arts, received the Friend of UGA at Oxford Award, R.G. Brown, Lamar Dodd School of Art, was awarded the Dedicato a Cortona Award. Kris Irwin, the Warnell School of Forestry, was the recipient of the Costa Rica Adelante Award. 

The T.W. Lord and Associates and Dondero’s Kitchen helped sponsor the ceremony.