OIE seeks nominations sought for International Education Awards

The Office of International Education invites nominations from the UGA campus community for the following internationalization awards. Deadline for receipt of nominations is Friday, December 20th.  Award winners will be honored at the Annual OIE Faculty and Staff Appreciation reception scheduled for April 3, 2014.

Richard Reiff Internationalization Award.  This award is given in honor of Dr. Richard Reiff, former executive director of the Office of International Education at UGA, past president of NAFSA: Association of International Educators, founding executive director of Phi Beta Delta International Honor Society, creator of UGA’s study abroad fair, and former chair of the international committee of the University System of Georgia.  The Reiff Award honors a tenured or tenure-track faculty member who has made major contributions to the overall internationalization of the University of Georgia.  These could include, for example, advancing education abroad opportunities for students, enriching the experiences of international students and scholars at UGA, engaging in significant research of international scope, advancing UGA’s international partnerships and engagement, and promoting campus internationalization.

OIE Study Abroad Award.   The University of Georgia is among the top institutions in the United States in the number of students studying abroad each year.  This distinction is possible only through the efforts and dedication of UGA faculty and staff that direct the programs, teach on the programs, administer programs, and advise students about their study abroad and exchange options. The OIE Study Abroad Award honors a faculty or staff member who has made major contributions to the study abroad effort at the University of Georgia by working directly with a study abroad or exchange program and/or contributing to the infrastructure that advances UGA’s overall study abroad effort.  Faculty at all ranks, as well as professional staff members (e.g. academic advisors, program coordinators) are eligible. 

Open Arms Award.  The Open Arms Award is given in honor of Mary Ann Kelly who played a leadership role in the International Student and Scholars and Immigration Services unit of OIE.  Over the years, Ms. Kelly worked tirelessly on behalf of international students, scholars, and faculty on the UGA campus.  She opened her home regularly to those who were far from their homes during the holidays and school breaks.  Her dedication and hospitality serve to inspire all of us to welcome UGA’s international students and scholars with “open arms.” The Open Arms Award honors UGA faculty or staff that that have gone above and beyond their formal duties in facilitating the presence of international students and/or scholars at the University of Georgia and making their experience while at UGA productive and positive.

International Diversity Award.  Jointly given by the Office of International Education and the Office of Institutional Diversity, the International Diversity award is given each year to a faculty or staff member who has shown dedication to promoting diversity in its many forms within international populations and activities at the University of Georgia.  Recipients may be honored for a variety of activities including recruiting students from underrepresented populations for study abroad; educating international students about U.S. cultural, ethnic, religious, or other forms of diversity; increasing the inclusion of students with disabilities in a variety of international activities; bringing attention to international and comparative aspects of courses or co-curricular activities devoted to diversity.

Application process
To nominate an individual for one of these awards, please go to  http://oie.uga.edu/awards/nominate.html.  
The materials above can also be submitted in hardcopy to the following address.  
Office of International Education (Attention Janet Smith), International Education Building, 1324 South Lumpkin Street, Athens, GA 30602.  
Deadline for receipt of nominations:  Friday, December 20th.