Did you know...?

Georgia became the first state to charter a state-supported university on  January 27, 1785 when the University of Georgia was incorporated by an act of the General Assembly.

The Seven Wonders of Georgia include Providence Canyon, Warm Springs, Okefenokee Swamp, Tallulah Gorge, Amicalola Falls, Stone Mountain, and Radium Springs.

The world's largest sculpture is located on the face of Stone Mountain. The figures of Confederate President Jefferson Davis and Generals Stonewall Jackson and Robert E. Lee are depicted as well as Lee's horse, Traveler. 

Two men who were leaders of the early University of Georgia also signed the United States Constitution. Abraham Baldwin, who wrote UGA’s charter and was the institution’s first president, and William Few, a member of the Board of Trustees, signed the Constitution on behalf of Georgia at the Constitutional Convention in Philadelphia, Pa., in 1787.

UGA and Delta Air Lines have created the Delta Prize for Global Understanding, an annual award that recognizes individuals or groups whose initiatives have promoted peace and cooperation among cultures and nations of the world. Delta Air Lines gave UGA an $890,000 grant to create the award, which consists of a $10,000 cash prize and an original work of art. Recipients of the award include former President Jimmy Carter and Rosalynn Carter; Archbishop Desmond Tutu of South Africa; former Soviet Union President Mikhail Gorbachev; Vaclav Havel, first president of the Czech Republic; and CNN founder Ted Turner.

Athens GA is  well known as the home of chart-topping bands like R.E.M. and The B-52s.  

Georgia is the nations number one producer of peanuts, pecans, and peaches.

Coca-Cola was invented in May 1886 by Dr. John S. Pemberton in Atlanta, Georgia. The name "Coca-Cola" was suggested by Dr. Pemberton's bookkeeper, Frank Robinson. He penned the name Coca-Cola in the flowing script that is famous today. Coca-Cola was first sold at a soda fountain in Jacob's Pharmacy in Atlanta by Willis Venable.